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Introduction

The S.C. Scrap Tire Sustainability Coalition met on
September 27 to address waste tire management
issues including rising costs, funding and markets.

This addendum is a follow up to that meeting and
is designed to provide essential information central
to that discussion. It also is the first supplement

to the special report “Waste Tire Management at a
Crossroads” - which is a fundamental reference to
the overall issues.

Multiple challenges were discussed, questions asked
and knowledge shared. Stakeholders were polled on
the biggest challenges. The top three results were:

1) funding; 2) markets; and 3) education.

Funding is the most immediate challenge. The rising
costs in the collection, hauling and processing of
waste tires cannot be met with current funding

- placing instant pressure on county government
budgets.

The advance recycling fee of $2 per tire - set in 1991
- has been the source of the vast majority of the
funding to counties and covered the majority of
their expenditures for the management of waste
tires in the past 30-plus years. See “How it Works:
Advance Recycling Fee to Waste Tire Recovery” on
page 3 for additional information.

The fee, however, has not kept pace.

Income doesn’t meet expenses.

Here is a breakdown of the significant surge

in costs as well as the reduction in revenue to
counties for the collecting, hauling and processing
of waste tires:

« Anearly 54
percent increase
from fiscal year
(FY) 2018 (July 1,
2017 to June 30,
2018) to FY23 (i.e.,
a state average of
$122.93 to $188.72
per ton);

- Anearly 21 percent upsurge ($156.39 to $188.72
per ton) from FY22 to FY23;

- A186 percent rise from 59 cents per tire in
FY10 to $1.70 per waste tire in FY21;

« A 20 percent overall decrease in the S.C.
Department of Health and Environmental
Control’'s (DHEC) grant funding for county
governments in FY23 - more than $633,000;

« The above reduction DOES NOT include more
than $488,000 in professional development,
public education and other direct costs that
have be funded in the past resulting in an
overall cut of more than $1.1 million; and

« The above figures DO NOT include the
county’s cost for staffing, equipment
and more.

What to do?

Stakeholder suggestions included:

« Finding ways to reduce costs (e.g., provide
specific counties with shredders, disposal);

- Developing markets that will provide value to
a waste tire;

« Increasing the advance recycling fee by a flat
fee or a percentage of the cost of a new tire.
The General Assembly is required to review the

tire fee every 5 years;

« Increasing the advance
recycling fee for large
truck tires;

« Adding the advance
recycling fee on tires with
a new car purchase. The
National Auto Dealers Association reported
that the average humber of new car/light
trucks sold per dealership across the United
States was 895 vehicles in 2021. Using that
average, South Carolina’s 252 dealerships sold
an estimated 225,540 vehicles. The current $2
fee would generate more than $1.8 million in
revenue;

« Removing current limitations on what
counties can charge for accepting
“‘undocumented” waste tires; and

« Considering potential funding from recent
federal legislation.

South Carolina Code of Laws: TITLE 44 - Health, CHAPTER 96



How It Works: Advance Recycling
Fee to Waste Tire Recovery

1. South Carolina has an advance recycling fee of
$2 per tire placed on the purchase of specific
new tires (i.e., bus, car, light truck, motorcycle,
tractor trailer).

2. The fee is paid by the consumer to the new tire
retailer.

3. The fee is submitted by the new tire retailer to
the S.C. Department of Revenue (DOR) minus
any credits lawfully claimed by the retailer for
the recycling of waste tires.

4. DOR s required to administer, collect, and
enforce the tire recycling fee in the same
manner that the sales and use taxes are
collected pursuant to S.C. Code of Laws, Title 12,
Chapter 36.

5. DOR distributes revenue to new tire retailers,
county governments and DHEC.

6. New tire retailers may retain 3 percent
(6 cents per tire) of the total fees collected as an
administrative collection allowance;

7. New tire retailers receive a $1 per waste tire
credit if the waste tires are sent to a DHEC-
approved recycler or processor. The credit for the
number of tires recycled cannot be greater than
the number of tires sold.

8. New tire retailers may not claim a $1 credit if
the tires are taken to a county collection center.

9. Counties receive DOR funding of $1.50 per tire
- less new tire retailer credits outlined above
- based on their population (percent of South
Carolina’s population). Each county must use
this revenue for the collection and processing of
waste tires.

10. DHEC receives DOR funding of 50 cents per
tire to be used in the administration of the
overall waste tire program (i.e., permitting,
compliance, enforcement, technical assistance
and public outreach) as well as grants to county

governments.

11. Counties are eligible for additional funding
from DHEC's waste tire grant program if the
DOR allocations do not cover their overall costs.
This shortfall is determined by subtracting

DOR funds, tipping fees and other county tire
revenues from contractor costs. Grants are

available annually.

In FY22, DHEC provided more than $2.2 million
in grant funding and DOR allocated more than
$2.8 million to counties. Overall, more than $110
million has been provided to South Carolina’s
waste tire recovery program since FY94.
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TABLE: 1.1: Waste Tire Fees by State

STATE FEE NOTES
Alabama $1
Alaska $250 ires with metal sttt or optkes
AT 2 percent of rgtail
price or $2 maximum
Arkansas $1-43 Based on purch.ase of used or
new tires
California $1.75
Colorado $2
Connecticut None Retailers may charge
Delaware $2
Florida $1
Georgia $1
Hawaii 41 Surch;;gis g)r/\ ilnr:\gg:tteeg tires
Idaho None Resideqts should.contact local
landfills to see if accepted
lllinois $2.50
Indiana 25 cents
lowa No fee/program Retailers may charge
Kansas $3
Kentucky $2
$2 per tire less than 100 pounds
Louisiana $2-$5-$10 $5 per medium truck tire $10 per
off-road tire
Maine $1
Maryland 80 cents
Massachusetts None Best practices recommended
Michigan $150 Funded by vel’;iec;e title transfer
Minnesota None Retailers may charge
Mississippi $1or $2 (size)
Missouri 50 cents
Montana None Landfill disposal allowed
Nebraska § o sales inchuding spare.
Nevada $1
New Hampshire None Towns may charge for disposal
New Jersey $1.50
New Mexico $1.50 Fee part of vehicle registration
New York $2.50
North Carolina 1or 2 percent (size)
North Dakota None
Ohio $1
onnoma | $2300r 8350
Oregon None
Pennsylvania $1
Rhode Island $5 (refundable)
South Carolina $2
South Dakota 20 S 1D .$1 max Fee part of vehicle registration
per vehicle
Tennessee $1.35
Texas No fee/program RetalIzzzgzglcal';g\?v:/éandﬁll
Utah $1 Fee on new tires and new car
sales
Vermont None Retailers.will take waste tires for
a fee typically of $3 to $5 per tire
Virginia 50 cents
Washington $1
West Virginia $5 Fee part of vehicle registration
Wisconsin None Local jurisdictions have own fees
Wyoming None Landfill may charge for disposal

SOURCE: U.S. Tire Manufacturers Association, tirebuyer, United Tires,

Amazon

South Carolina Code of Laws: TITLE 44 - Health, CHAPTER 96



Waste Tire Fees

Most states have a fee of some sort on the purchase of new tires (See
Table 1.1 on page 3). Generally, these fees are collected by tire retailers.
The fees generally go to the collection, hauling, storage and processing
of waste tires as well as cleanup of waste tire piles and market
development grants.

Here are varying examples of state programs.

Arkansas - There is a $3 fee is for all tires removed from the rim and
replaced by a new tire or $1 for a used tire. A $3 fee shall be charged
by commercial tire retailers for new tires as part of fleet services.
Tire retailers may deduct 5 percent per tire from the fees charged
to customers before remitting to the Arkansas Department of
Finance and Administration.

Connecticut - A $2 fee charged on the retail sale of each tire
commonly used on a motor vehicle was repealed on July 1, 1997.
Currently, any extra surcharges on tires are done so at the discretion
of the retailer and are not mandated by the state. Fees are typically
collected to assist the retailer in the handling of waste tires left
behind when a new tire is purchased. There are no statutes which
require a tire retailer to take waste tires, but most will when a new
tire is purchased

Michigan - Michigan imposes a $1.50 vehicle transfer tax to fund its
waste tire program.

North Carolina - A scrap tire disposal tax is placed on the retail sale
of new tires. The tax is 2 percent of the cost of tires with a bead
diameter of 20 inches and 1 percent on tires with a bead diameter
of 20 inches or more. The purchases of new tires from outside North
Carolina: 1) for storage, use or consumption; or 2) for placement in
the state on vehicles offered for sale, lease or rental are subject to
the tax.

Tennessee - Tennessee requires a $1.35 pre-disposal fee paid by
consumers on hew tires sold at retail. The fee includes all tires

for vehicles that travel on state roads along with those from farm
tractors and equipment. In addition, Tennessee also charges a tire
environmental fee on each purchase of a hew motor vehicle to be
titled and registered in the state. The fees are: (1) $5 for a motor
vehicle with four or fewer wheels (2) $10 for a motor vehicle with
more than four but less than 11 wheels an (3) $15 for a motor vehicle
with 11 or more wheels.

Utah - Funding for the waste tire recycling program comes

from a $1 fee assessed on the purchase of a new tire including
those associated with a new vehicle purchase. Tire retailers and
new vehicle dealerships collect the fee and transfer it to the

Tax Commission. Fees collected are placed into the Waste Tire
Recycling Fund. Utah has an incentive program for tire recyclers
operating in the state that provides reimbursements for: 1) waste
tires converted into crumb rubber if used as a component in an
ultimate product; 2) tires recycled other than crumb rubber;

3) chipped tires used for beneficial use; 4) transportation costs to
remove tires from a tire pile; and 5) tires disposed of properly in a
landfill.

TABLE: 1.2 Whole Tire Landfills

Bans by State

STATE BAN
Alabama No
Alaska No
Arkansas Yes
Arizona Yes
California Yes
Colorado Yes
Connecticut Yes
Delaware Yes
Florida Yes
Georgia Yes
Hawaii Yes
Idaho Yes
Illinois Yes
Indiana Yes
lowa Yes
Kansas Yes
Kentucky Yes
Louisiana Yes
Maine Yes
Maryland Yes
Massachusetts Yes
Michigan Yes
Minnesota No
Mississippi Yes
Montana No
Nebraska Yes
Nevada No
New Hampshire No
New Jersey No
New Mexico No
New York Yes
North Carolina Yes
North Dakota No
Ohio Yes
Oklahoma Yes
Oregon Yes
North Carolina Yes
Pennsylvania Yes
Rhode Island No
South Carolina Yes
South Dakota No
Tennessee Yes
Texas No
Utah No
Vermont Yes
Virginia No
Washington No
West Virginia Yes
Wisconsin Yes
Wyoming No
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